5 Candidates Competing for 3 Crystal Lake City Council Seats

Candidates include three incumbents and two newcomers.


The race to serve on the Crystal Lake City Council includes five candidates.

However, only three council positions will be decided in the April 9 consolidated election. All positions carry four-year terms.

Incumbent council members Ralph M. Dawson, Cameron Hubbard and Jeffrey Thorsen filed the necessary petition packets to seek re-election to their seats.

Hubbard was appointed to the council in December after council member Carolyn Schofield was elected to the McHenry County Board.

The incumbents are challenged by newcomer James R. Tomasello, a resident who has been outspoken on recent issues impacting his neighborhood including the planned median near the Metra railroad tracks on Crystal Lake Avenue and East Street. 

Newcomer Charles K. Ebann also has thrown his name into the race.

City Clerk Nick Kachiroubas filed the necessary election petitions for the upcoming election. He is seeking re-election to the four-year post, and is unchallenged, according to election paperwork filed with McHenry County.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »