.

New York 8th Grader Seeking Help from Midwest Patch Readers

Junior High student Kevin Leeb is collecting $10 gift cards to distribute to victims of Hurricane Sandy.

 

This article is somewhat like the traditional 'telephone game' most of us played as kids. Take the following information and pass it on.

Follow me closely on this one: My friend's sister's co-worker's son is an 8th grade student at West Babylon Jr. High School in New York.

The junior high is part of a school district located on Long Island - an area hit hard by Hurricane Sandy one month ago. Some people lost power for days, others lost their homes altogether.

Along comes West Babylon Junior High student Kevin Leeb who is currently working on his community service project for National Junior Honor Society. Kevin wanted to reach out and help those hurt by the storm, but he knew he needed help from further away.

"My idea is to collect as many $10 gift cards as possible to help my friends and their families," said Kevin. "So many people in my community have been devastated by Hurricane Sandy. Many have lost homes, cars, furniture, clothing, games, bikes and so much more. I am looking to the Midwest because the East Coast was hit hard."

Kevin is hoping to collect gift cards of smaller value amounts in order to assist more people. Gas cards, American Express, Visa, Mastercard, Sears, Home Depot, or Lowes gift cards are some he thinks would help the community.

Crystal Lake resident Tricia Nasta said her sister, Alice Peters, informed her the West Babylon Senior High School has officially approved Kevin's project to guarantee its validity. Peters, who lost power at her home for 12 days after the storm, works with Kevin's mother, Margaret Leeb, at the West Babylon Senior High School. (By now, you can probably see how we are all connected!).

"You have to give credit to an 8th grader who wants to help others," Nasta said.

Anyone wanting to help Kevin reach his goal of collecting 100 cards can send $10 gift cards to the address of the West Babylon Senior High School:

Kevin Leeb

Att: Hurricane Sandy Project

500 Great East Neck Road

West Babylon,  NY  11704

 

 

 

 

 

 

Brian L. November 28, 2012 at 06:53 PM
So, didn't you notice there was a short chain that connected this boy to the midwest? I don't think he just poked a map and chose us. And why the animosity for someone asking for help? He isn't making you donate. All there is here is the request. You can ignore him, ignore the salvation army bell ringers, ignore food pantries, etc. You don't have to help anyone who asks if you so chose. It's called the United States for a reason. You don't live on an island, these stories will get out. If you want to help, great...if not, there is no need to chide those who ask and who help.
Puddinghead November 28, 2012 at 07:04 PM
I am so tired of generalizations. How does anyone (Vortex ) know who on the east coast contributed to what charity benefiting whatever disaster in whatever part of the US? What about those who serve in the American Red Cross from one part of the country and pick and go where the need is. I can't imagine going through what those people have gone through and still go through and will contribute as I have in the past. Are we turning into a thoughtless and souless society that we spit on those in need? I second Mr. McCracken's Huzzah to the young Master Leeb.
J.Lyn November 28, 2012 at 07:27 PM
Brian...Great response. This young man has more emotional intelligence than Vortex or Abigail have in their right pinkies. I am sure neither V or A have ever once needed assistance from anyone...ever...thereby lack empathy for anyone in need. V and A are only mature adults in name only. They are more like little children who want all the toys on their side of the play pen...shame on them. They need to grow up and emotionally mature before anything they have to say is relevent . Keep up the good works young man...this nation needs more people like you!
Just Sayin November 28, 2012 at 07:35 PM
Abigail...You sure are one shameless bigot. Your candidate lost. Go lick your wounds some place where we don't have to witness it. Shame on you.
Just Sayin November 28, 2012 at 07:40 PM
Stevie...you sir are a joke...and so are any of your opinions.
Lisa November 29, 2012 at 12:27 AM
Way to go, Kevin! ill be sure to send a gift card :)
Just Sayin November 29, 2012 at 01:46 AM
Abigail...I just read the article on the Hostess closing and I noticed you chimed in as a person who LOVED Big Sherms deep fried Twinkies. That revealed much about you. As they say..." Garbage in...Garbage Out".
Abigail November 29, 2012 at 03:00 AM
Steve S & Just Sayin, I guess you didn't get my point regarding the constant complaining about President Bush's response to Katrina, but no one is complaining about President Obama's response to Sandy. That says a lot about you two.
Just Sayin November 29, 2012 at 04:04 AM
Abigail...Bush fumbled Katrina like he fumbled just about everything during his reign. No one is complaining about Obama's response...because there is nothing to complain about you foolish woman. As I said up north in this thread...with you...it's garbage in and garbage out. As J.Lyn stated above...you need to grow up before anything you have to say is relevent.
Abigail November 29, 2012 at 04:27 AM
So when you don't like my opinion, you tell me I need to grow up?? Who are you to determine anyone's maturity level?? Your rude and insulting statements to me and anyone else prove you and J. Lyn are more immature than I am. How dare you or J. Lyn address anyone like that??!! As for Bush's response to Katrina, again I state that Obama has responded in the same manner, which is very poorly. But you don't hear anyone complaining about anything Obama has done.
sankar November 29, 2012 at 05:22 AM
Come on, don't you sell yourself short. You are obviously complaining. Are you so low in self-esteem, that you consider yourself a nobody?
sankar November 29, 2012 at 05:39 AM
Abigail, Why do you think nobody is complaining?Could it because Bush set the bar too low?
Michael Ioffe November 29, 2012 at 07:27 AM
Dear, Kevin Leeb, of course, you are doing good job. (Sorry for ESL). I will advice to you think about next information: From 2000 and 2012 killer beetles destroyed more than 100,000,000 acres of forests in USA and Canada. One acre of ALIVE forest evaporate 4,000 ton of water per year. It means that in 2012 air over North America DO NOT receive 400,000,000,000 ton of water vapor, it was less HUMIDITY in air and LESS probabilities of RAINS. Dry continent heat the air, winds transport energy to Atlantic and heat surface of ocean-reason for hurricanes like Irene-2011, Sandy-2012. We had drought of 2010, 2011, 2012. Wildfires burned 10,000,000 acres of forests in USA in 2012. In my opinion, it will be better to put all energy for prevention of disasters! We must: 1. Build small power plants in dead forests and use wood to produce electricity. hot water, heat. After cleaning area regrow forests. 2. Clean our ponds, lakes, streams, creeks, rivers, build reservoirs to COLLECT SPRING water. 3. Start building systems of relocation of water from flooding areas to dry. Profit from energy production, increasing productivities of farmers fields from 2013, and decreasing spending on wildfires, hurricanes and other disaster will cover all our expencies to create millions jobs right now. Tell it to everyone, who you know.
Procrustes' Foil November 29, 2012 at 10:56 AM
I wonder: would Kevin have started this gift-card drive if he didn't need to fulfill a community service requirement for school?
Puddinghead November 29, 2012 at 12:47 PM
When is a good time to learn about compassion and empathy? In the eight grade or never? So while he may be completing a community service project requirement for his honor society, he is still doing something that is a benefit to those in need his community. Give or don't give that is your choice. Just as an FYI...You do realize that your posts can be read by anyone on the Babylon Patch? Their article links to the Grayslake Patch.
Brian L. November 29, 2012 at 02:03 PM
Yeah...I must have missed the "no one saying bad things about Obama." As much as you don't want it to be...Fox is mainstream media as well...they do a great job ripping on Obama as well as the two mainstream conservative am stations in Chicago.
Just Sayin November 29, 2012 at 02:24 PM
Abigail, I can't speak for j. lyn but I call it as I see it. Historically your posts are rude and negative ranting and ravings no matter what the subject. You come off like a bitter old self rightious crow.In fact I am sure you are. Let's take this article as an example. Instead of praising the good and compassionate heart of this young man...which you never do acknowledge, you turn it into a negative politcal complaint yet again. Seriously oh self rightious bitter one...you need to take a good long look at yourself in the mirror. You say how dare I ? LOL... I say you are pathetic.
Abigail November 29, 2012 at 03:59 PM
No, I think no one complains about our current president because that would be racist.
Oliver P. McCracken November 29, 2012 at 04:06 PM
While that blasted Mr. Hoover IS of suspicious Quaker lineage, I hardly find the questioning of this to be Race-ist. Cult-ist, perhaps. Or even Anti-Porridge (though you'll likely be hard-pressed to find a man who would revolt against the wonderful aroma of crack'd and boil'd breakfasting oats). But Race-ist? I highly doubt it!
Stephanie Price (Editor) November 29, 2012 at 05:13 PM
???? Michael, Kevin is dealing with the here and now. Imagine if a disaster hit you and your family, destroying your home or belongings. Would you want people to help you, or say "I'm going to work on fixing the earth"? Give this kid a break, he is doing something awesome for the people he knows in his community. Maybe he can fix the planet when he's - say 20 - but right now he is in the 8th grade!
Brian L. November 29, 2012 at 08:06 PM
When one calls themselves "Fair and Balanced," that doesn't make it a general truth. And I don't doubt they are number one. They are one of the only channels to report a right leaning slant...so you get roughly half the country tuning in to that station. I've said before on this site that I watch and listen to pretty much everything. I'm not a big fan of fox, but some of what they report helps me form my opinions for or against some things. I like their "we report, you decide" much better. At least that is honest.
RationalTht November 29, 2012 at 09:07 PM
It is hard to be compassionate and charitable when the government is doing everything they can to TAKE away what we are EARNING to GIVE to other people. Before anyone goes off, I am not one of the 1% and not even close, but I just don't think it is right or fair.
Cole Pierce November 30, 2012 at 01:20 AM
God Bless Barack Obama and his policies. The people voted and Obama and his policies won. I enjoy reading comments from bitter losers. The more unstable and unhinged the messages get, the more I know Obama is right for America. The people have spoken.
Brian L. November 30, 2012 at 02:10 AM
I don't think it matters if you are 1% or not. I too am not, but I have no problem with my tax dollars going to help others. I have issues with system abuse, which we need to fix, but if my money goes towards infrastructure, schools, welfare, food stamps...whatever people use and need, it's ok with me. We are one country and taking a percentage of what I earn to go towards the betterment of society is OK with me...allowing that I keep enough to live myself.
Abigail November 30, 2012 at 04:52 AM
Cole, yes, Obama won the election, which means we can look forward to further destruction of our economy and job market. Maybe another recession, or a full blown depression. But then again maybe the Dems not having control of the House will keep them in check for four years. Who knows? One thing I do know is only your half of the country will be holding hands and singing "kumbaya." As for being a "bitter loser" or being "unstable and unhinged." That isn't me. What I am is very disappointed in my fellow citizens who are so buffaloed that they feel Obama is the second coming. When the Republicans take power again, we won't gloat like you Dems are doing--we have more class than that.
Benjamin Dover November 30, 2012 at 02:02 PM
Kevin...I don't know if you read the drivel some clown have posted on this article, but know that they represent the very small minority. You are doing a great thing! Please do not let the idiotic commments of a few ruin that. Your parents should be very proud.
Walter White November 30, 2012 at 02:23 PM
That's true. You save your classlessness for before the election. But we won't have to worry about that until the GOP changes with the times. Good luck with that.
Erica Williams November 30, 2012 at 03:07 PM
Kevin - Keep up the good work. And to all the posters - Why are you even bringing up politics? This is a great thing that Kevin is doing. Cristel - This has turned something great a child is doing into a circus. Can you delete all the comments that don't pertain to this awesome project Kevin is working on.
Brian L. November 30, 2012 at 10:24 PM
ok...first off, did you just put a P next to your name and call yourself a moderator? Clever. Or, if you are a mod, I doubt you should break the T.O.S. and call posters idiots. Just a thought. And on that note, how am i an idiot here? I agreed with your statement that they were number one without needing the numbers. "I don't doubt they are number one." I also gave my reason. They love to say they aren't mainstream (which the numbers show they are.) They are the mainstream media that slants to the republican side. MSNBC obviously leans left...CNN may as well, but I tend to think they are closer to the middle. So we have three major news networks. Two with an outright or supposed liberal agenda and one with an outright conservative agenda (although republicans hate to admit it.) When roughly half the country has only one network they can be fed the stories they want to hear, it's ratings will go through the roof. The liberal side has a couple of channels they can watch...so the ratings get dispersed. If you combine the two networks "liberal" viewers, then the liberal news and the conservative news were actually very close in ratings. It's pretty straight forward.
Stephanie Price (Editor) November 30, 2012 at 10:36 PM
Note: Stevie Janowski is a reader and is not employed by Patch in any capacity. Yes, he added the Patch "P" next to his name - probably to be funny. His comments have since deleted. I have closed the comments on this story as I don't want any more people harassing this poor 8th grader who is only trying to do a good deed for his neighbors and friends.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something