Cary Students Named Finalists In Musical Theater Awards

Young performers will compete to represent Illinois in the National High School Musical Theater Awards.

seniors Sheila Wilhelmi and Sam Babic have been named finalists in the Illinois High School Musical Theater Awards.

In celebration of outstanding achievement in high school musical theater performances, Broadway In Chicago is thrilled to announce the 24 finalists for the first annual  musical theater awards.

The finalists (12 young actors and 12 young actresses) have been invited to participate in the Awards program, which will be held at the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place (175 E. Chestnut St.) on Monday, May 7.

In its inaugural year, the Awards program received over 50 applicants, high school students from all parts of the state of Illinois, from O'Fallon, Illinois to as far north as Cary, Illinois, as well as from Chicago and the surrounding suburbs.

“It has been very exciting to have reached so many talented young men and women from all over Illinois in the first year of the program. We look forward to an awards day that will both showcase these young peoples' talent, as well
as give them a unique opportunity to work with top talent in the theatre industry,” said Lou Raizin, President of Broadway In Chicago.

In preparation for the Awards program, the twenty-four finalists will receive direction and coaching from "JERSEY BOYS" National Tour cast members.

The cast members will teach the high school students the closing number from JERSEY BOYS, which the students will perform at the final awards ceremony at the conclusion of Monday's events.

The finalists will audition in front of Chicago's top theatre professionals, including PJ Powers (Artistic Director, Timeline Theatre Company), Sam Samuelson (Film, Television and Theatre Agent, Stewart Talent), Nick Cosgrove (Frankie Valli, Jersey Boys National Tour), and Eileen LaCario (Vice President, Broadway In Chicago).

In addition to their day with the Broadway In Chicago team, all finalists will receive tickets to see JERSEY BOYS.

From the 24 finalists, one actor and one actress will be chosen to represent Illinois in the finals in New York.

These two talented young stars will be provided with an all-expense paid trip to participate in a performance enrichment program, representing the state of Illinois at the National High School Musical Theater Awards, on Broadway, on Monday, June 25, 2012.

The National High School Musical Theater Awards, also known as The Jimmy™
Awards, are named for legendary Broadway theater owner and producer James M. Nederlander. Broadway In Chicago is a Nederlander presentation, and is excited to join the network of theatres across the country participating
in The Jimmys™.


Information provided by Broadway in Chicago


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something